Reaching Back Over 40 Years


The vision of local pastor Dr. Bill Owens resulted in the Cape Fear School of Theology in 1973. The expressed purpose was to equip Christians, regardless of denomination, for effective service. In 1979, the ministry came under the direction of Dr. Ralph Richardson, another local pastor. Land and a building were purchased at 817 South McPherson Church Road, and classes began the fall of 1980 at this current site. It was then that the name was changed to Carolina Bible College. In 1983, a new administration and classroom building opened debt-free. Dr. Phil Rose was hired as the college’s first Academic Dean.

Rev. Rick Oglesby became Dean in 1996 and was installed as President in June, 1997. Dr. Richardson became Chancellor at that time. Rev. Phil Stamm became Dean in 1997. Under Rev. Oglesby the school sought and received approval for our Associate’s Degree and Bachelor’s Degree programs from the Veteran’s Administration. Dr. J. Michael Arnett became the Academic Dean in 2000.

In 2000, Phil Stamm became President. In 2000, Carolina Bible College began offering classes online. In December, 2002, Dr. Bill Korver became interim President and in April, 2004, he became the fourth President of Carolina Bible College. In 2010, Dr. Harry Ghee became the college’s Academic Dean.

In 2012, the Board of Directors voted to change the name of the college to Carolina College of Biblical Studies.

In 2013, CCBS was granted initial accreditation through the Association for Biblical Higher Education (ABHE).